Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Sox v. Yankees Game 2

- A little late to the TV tonight..we're already in the fifth inning. How we doin?

- Getting shut out by Ivan Nova and his 7+ ERA...splendid.

- Gavin Floyd pitching his gigantic ass off...only 1 hit given up, but its a HR to Robinson Cano. Sux losing 100-0. Or wait, 1-0. May as well be 100-0.

- Alexis leads off with a single, followed by a mighty 310 foot flyout for AJ, which is the farthest I think I've seen him hit the ball this year.

- Now its time for Gordon Beckham and his pitching wedge.

- Gustavo Molina has Rios thrown out by 10 feet at second base, but Cano DROPS THE BALL..(picture Juan Pierre DROPPING THE BALL when you read that, and Hawk saying HE DROPS THE BALL)

- Man in scoring position!

- Had to put baby down to bed...Sox apparently scored, then gave he run right back. Danks and Floyd just refuse to win. Now 2-1 Yankees top of 6th.

- I'm beginning to sense a pattern here in Sux at bats. They do not like swinging at navel high pitches over the middle of the plate. Throw them a bouncing cricket type offspeed pitch though, and they cannot control themselves.

- Very nice 6th inning btw. Alexei leads off with the single, then the 3-4-5 hitters can't get him off first base. Nova threw Adam Dunn two pitches in his AB that he should have hit 600 feet, but he didn't swing at them. Oh the OBP!

- At this point I abandoned the Sux for Bulls and Nyquil. It appears the Sux only play well in Blurry Vision...as after they were kicked off the HD CSN+ plus channel by the Blackhawks, they moved over to Soviet Definition and then the out of focus magic started. Paul Konerko hit a 2R HR in the 8th off the beleaguered Rafael Soriano to give the Sux the lead 3-2. The 9th inning looked like sure disaster, and it only took 3 pitchers to get thru it, none of whom were effective (although Gavin Floyd gets a pass for pitching 8 good innings before that).

Brent (Brett? Brent? I don't know) Lillibridge made 2 amazing catches in RF on potentially game winning screaming liners that Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano hit the piss out of to save the game. Sux have won 2 in a row in Yankee Stadium, and are 2-0 since I've started the bloog. Who says negativity does not get results?

No comments:

Post a Comment